Skip to main content

Protect Our Care Launches Campaign to Hold Vulnerable GOP Lawmakers Accountable for Their Votes Against the Health Care Provisions in the Build Back Better Act

By December 1, 2021No Comments

House Republicans Voted to Deny Affordable Health Care for Millions of Working Families

Read a Sample State Release Here.

Washington, D.C. — On November 19, the House passed the historic Build Back Better Act without a single Republican vote. By opposing Build Back Better, Republicans voted against driving down health care costs, lowering prescription drug prices, expanding coverage to millions, improving care for seniors, and leveling the playing field for working families. The health care measures are the most popular provisions in the entire bill and are widely supported by voters from all parties.

This week, Protect Our Care is launching an ongoing campaign to hold vulnerable Republican members accountable starting with the 21 members listed below. Protect Our Care will educate constituents on the vote their member of Congress took to raise drug costs, raise insurance premiums, deny coverage to millions, and deny hearing benefits for seniors.

“Time and again, Republicans have failed the American people on health care,” said Protect Our Care Chair Leslie Dach. “Americans from all walks of life support policies to lower drug prices, expand coverage, improve care for seniors, and level the playing field for working families, but Republicans continue to put industry profits ahead of their constituents. By opposing Build Back Better, Republicans proved they are out of touch with the economic and health worries that keep families up at night. Just like their attempts to destroy the Affordable Care Act, this vote will haunt the GOP for years to come.”

Protect Our Care’s campaign is focused on the following Republican members of Congress:

David Schweikert (AZ-06)
Mike Garcia (CA-25)
Young Kim (CA-39)
Michelle Steel (CA-48)
David Valadao (CA-21)
Carlos Gimenez (FL-26)
María Elvira Salazar (FL-27)
Ashley Hinson (IA-01)
Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02)
Andy Harris (MD-01)
Ann Wagner (MO-02)
Ted Budd (NC-13)
Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02)
Andrew Garbarino (NY-02)
John Katko (NY-24)
Claudia Tenney (NY-22)
Steve Chabot (OH-01)
Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01)
Scott Perry (PA-10)
Tony Gonzales (TX-23)
Beth Van Duyne (TX-24)